G-CORE

The Graduate Committee on Research in Education (G-CORE) is a student group formed to support the research of graduate students in the College of Education. G-CORE is comprised of two graduate students from each of the College of Education's five Departments, and is led by Dr. Tasha Beretvas, Associate Dean of Research and Graduate Studies.

Mission

Promote graduate student research by strengthening CoE resources and infrastructure and by providing educational and professional development opportunities.

Members

Curriculum and Instruction
Jenny Buontempo - jennybuontempo@gmail.com
Oscar Omar Diaz - oscar.omar.diaz@gmail.com 

Educational Administration
Anna Drake - anna.p.drake@gmail.com
Emily Germain - ekgermain@gmail.com
Cory Davis - corwdavis@gmail.com

Educational Psychology
Danika Maddocks - dmaddocks@gmail.com
Melissa Rodgers - melissa.a.rodgers@utexas.edu

Kinesiology and Health Education
Matt Lehrer - mlehrer@utexas.edu
Mandy Salinas - flyingcape@gmail.com

Special Education
Philip Capin - pcapin@utexas.edu
Katherine Ledbetter-Cho - kel48@txstate.edu

Events Archive

G-CORE coordinates regular events that may be of interest to current graduate students throughout the department.

Here is a list of some of our previous events, and presentation slides, when available: 

  • Life Hacks for Grad Students (powerpoint)
  • Applying for Jobs
  • NIH Funding for Graduate Students (powerpoint)
  • Interviewing for Jobs

Other Student Resources

UT List
Sign up to receive email updates about activities designed to support CoE graduate students, such as (brown bags, workshops, panels, research opportunities, etc.). To subscribe please click here.

Life in Austin, TX
Here is a guide for food & drinks, music & nightlife, outdoor recreation, and places to visit on campus. 

The Student Employment Excellence Development (SEED) Workshops
Each semester SEED offers free one-hour workshops designed to help success in their student jobs and future careers. Classes focus on (1) Employment Foundations, (2) Communication Skills, (3) Work/Life Balance, (4) Compliance and Safety, and (5) Cultural Competency. 

Student Well-Being