Find Faculty

Results for: Department of Educational Psychology
 
 
Ricardo C Ainslie

Ricardo C Ainslie

M. K. Hage Centennial Professor in Education, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0364, +1 512 471 4407, rainslie@austin.utexas.edu

Explores the intersection of psychology and culture through such topics as the psychological experience of immigration, ethnic conflicts and the impact of violence within communities, and the relationship between individual and collective identity.

Germine H Awad

Germine H Awad

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0526, gawad@austin.utexas.edu

Studies the effects that acculturation and identity have on discrimination, specifically in populations of Arab/Middle Eastern and African American women.

Sarah Kate Bearman

Sarah Kate Bearman

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
skbearman@austin.utexas.edu

Research focuses on the dissemination and implementation of empirically supported practices (ESPs) for children with disruptive behavior, trauma, anxiety and depression in community settings.

Tasha Beretvas

Tasha Beretvas

Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, Business, Government and Society, Red McCombs School of Business
+1 512 471 0724, +1 512 471 4155, tberetvas@austin.utexas.edu

Interested in statistical models with a focus on deriving and evaluating multilevel model extensions and meta-analysis models for educational and social science data.

Chris Brownson

Chris Brownson

Associate VP for Student Affairs, CMHC Director, Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs
+1 512 475 6990, cbrownson@austin.utexas.edu

Research interests include college student suicide prevention, collaborative care models of behavioral health in primary care, and the intersection of mental health and academic success.

Lawrence A Brownstein

Lawrence A Brownstein

Senior Lecturer, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 441 3946, lab@austin.utexas.edu

Angela Bush-Richards

Angela Bush-Richards

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0381, abrichards@austin.utexas.edu

Dr. Richards interests are in applied research and evaluation in education settings from prekindergarten through adult professional learning in order to improve students' academic mindsets, learning strategies, motivation, persistence, and achievement and promote equitable and positive learning environments, college readiness, and lifelong success.

Cindy I Carlson

Cindy I Carlson

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 4155, ccarlson@austin.utexas.edu

Active in current healthcare reform endeavors, studies integrated behavioral health, attachment theory, and consultation theories and processes such as home-school partnership and family-centered treatment.

Stephanie W Cawthon

Stephanie W Cawthon

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0378, stephanie.cawthon@austin.utexas.edu

Explores individual, school, community, and system level factors that affect education, employment, and quality of life outcomes for deaf and hard of hearing individuals.

Seung W Choi

Seung W Choi

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 2751, schoi@austin.utexas.edu

Interests include the development and dissemination of computerized adaptive testing applications in educational and psychological testing and patient-reported outcome measurements.

Kevin O Cokley

Kevin O Cokley

Oscar and Anne Mauzy Regents Professor for Educational Research and Development, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 7498, kcokley@austin.utexas.edu

Researches themes related to understanding the psychological and environmental factors that impact African American student achievement, and the impact of the impostor phenomenon in academic and mental health outcomes.

Sarah M Collins

Sarah M Collins

Lecturer, Department of Statistics & Data Science, , College of Natural Sciences
smcollins@utexas.edu

Statistics

Nancy P Daley

Nancy P Daley

Senior Lecturer, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 4155, ndaley@austin.utexas.edu

Nancy Daley has taught Human Sexuality, an upper-division undergraduate elective, since 1996. This course addresses the physical, psychological, emotional, and interpersonal aspects of human sexuality. Daley is particularly interested in examining gender, sexual orientation, sexual coercion, sexual perversions, and sexual communication.

David J Drum

David J Drum

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0367, ddrum@austin.utexas.edu

Assists students in finding research topics, particularly relating to college student suicidality and health psychology, working towards integrative health care and improving access to mental health services in hospitals.

Toni Falbo

Toni Falbo

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0603, +1 512 471 8020, toni@prc.utexas.edu

Studies the outcomes of sibling status on human development and educational attainment, and examines the effects of China's one-child policy on the personalities of Chinese children and adults.

Douglas C Garrard

Douglas C Garrard

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 232 2850, +1 512 471 5017, garrardd@austin.utexas.edu

Mary Claire Gerwels

Mary Claire Gerwels

Senior Lecturer, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 4155, mcgerwels@austin.utexas.edu

Jane S Gray

Jane S Gray

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Educational Psychology
jane.gray@austin.utexas.edu

Supports the clinical training of doctoral students, teaches clinically-focused courses and prepares students for psychology internship training.

Anita Israni

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Educational Psychology
aip@utexas.edu

Anita Israni's research interests focus on using Bayesian statistical methods to employ hierarchical linear modeling, specifically working with longitudinal and mediation data.

Hyeon-Ah (Annie)  Kang

Hyeon-Ah (Annie) Kang

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0420, hkang@austin.utexas.edu

Studies statistical methods related to psychometrics, such as item response theory, response time modeling, diagnostic classification modeling, and stochastic test design.

Timothy Z Keith

Timothy Z Keith

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0274, tzkeith@austin.utexas.edu

Focuses on the nature and measurement of intelligence, including the validity of tests of intelligence, and understanding factors that influence school learning and academic achievement.

David A Klingbeil

David A Klingbeil

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0218, dklingbeil@austin.utexas.edu

Evaluates popular educational practices to identify moderators of effectiveness; designs evidence-based practices for the context of high-poverty schools, identifying students needing additional support and evidence-based interventions for academic and social-behavioral outcomes.

Chris J McCarthy

Chris J McCarthy

Department Chair (Interim), Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 232 4835, cjmccarthy@austin.utexas.edu

Studies stress and coping as it relates to professionals in educational settings, health and wellness, and the identification of psychological resources that can help prevent stress.

Leslie A Moore

Leslie A Moore

Senior Lecturer, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0357, +1 512 471 4409, lamoore@austin.utexas.edu

Interested in human development and the role that therapy plays in enhancing development with a focus on the study of comparative approaches to counseling interventions.

Katherine Muenks

Katherine Muenks

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
kmuenks@utexas.edu

Dr. Muenks' areas of expertise include: (1) how people develop certain motivational beliefs, such as the belief that they are good at math or that their intelligence is changeable, (2) how parents' beliefs about their children shape their interactions with their children and their children's motivation, performance, and persistence, and (3) how the social context of the classroom, including students' perceptions of teachers and peers, influence students' motivation, performance, and persistence.

Kristin  Neff

Kristin Neff

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0382, +1 512 471 4155, kneff@austin.utexas.edu

Researches the psychological health benefits of self-compassion, drawing from fields of social and personality psychology, developmental psychology, and clinical psychology.

Jessica J Obleness

Jessica J Obleness

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Educational Psychology
jessica.obleness@austin.utexas.edu

Past research includes social-emotional development for children from low-income backgrounds and children who have experienced trauma, with interests in attachment, self-regulation, temperament/personality, and family interactions. Current research project: collaboration with University of Nebraska-Lincoln adapting a behavioral coding system to evaluate temperament.

Michael  Parent

Michael Parent

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0845, michael.parent@austin.utexas.edu

Focuses on the intersections of gender, sexuality, and behavioral health in topics of men's health, gender roles, and muscularity; conducts outreach with gender and sexual minority communities; development of mobile health interventions.

Keenan A Pituch

Keenan A Pituch

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0672, +1 512 471 4155, kpituch@austin.utexas.edu

Scholarly interests include methodological research and applications involving multilevel modeling, missing data analysis, multivariate methods, and intensive longitudinal models.

James E Pustejovsky

James E Pustejovsky

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0683, pusto@austin.utexas.edu

Interests include meta-analysis, causal inference, robust inference, statistical methods for of single-case research designs, experimental design, and statistical models for behavioral data.

Aaron B Rochlen

Aaron B Rochlen

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0361, +1 512 471 4409, arochlen@austin.utexas.edu

Research focuses on men and traditional masculinity, with a particular emphasis on men's mental health, depression, help-seeking patterns, and their underutilization of counseling services.

Erin M Rodriguez

Erin M Rodriguez

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0283, erodriguez@austin.utexas.edu

Studies family, linguistic, and sociocultural influences on children's adaptation to stress, to better understand how family coping, language and communication, and sociocultural context impact children's mental and physical health outcomes.

Stephanie S Rude

Stephanie S Rude

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 4155, srude@austin.utexas.edu

Research focus is on the detection of biases in perception, attention, and memory that contribute to depression vulnerability and on the utility of "big picture" thinking for regulating mood.

Delida  Sanchez

Delida Sanchez

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0368, delida.sanchez@austin.utexas.edu

Interested in teaching and research in the area of multicultural counseling, exploring ethnic and racial identity development, and mental health outcomes among Black and Latino adolescents.

Diane L Schallert

Diane L Schallert

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0784, dschallert@austin.utexas.edu

Investigates the interface between language and learning, socio-functional descriptions of both oral and written language use, how students learn from classroom interactions especially those that occur online, and affective factors that influence learning.

Kevin D Stark

Kevin D Stark

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0267, +1 512 471 4407, kstark@austin.utexas.edu

Studies the application of cognitive-behavioral interventions to behavior problems in schools, and the assessment, treatment, and theoretical models of depression in children and adolescents.

Marie-Anne P Suizzo

Marie-Anne P Suizzo

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0379, +1 512 471 4155, msuizzo@austin.utexas.edu

Research interests center around how parent-child relationships, parental involvement, and child socialization shape children's and adolescents' development and learning across cultures and ethnic groups.

Lindsay C Webster

Lindsay C Webster

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Educational Psychology
lindsay.webster@austin.utexas.edu

Interests center on a transpersonal perspective in counseling, including integrative applications of mindfulness, meditation, and yoga in counseling.

Tiffany A Whittaker

Tiffany A Whittaker

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 2749, t.whittaker@austin.utexas.edu

Research focuses on the examination and demonstration of various procedures used to model the relationships among variables, such as structural equation modeling, multilevel modeling, and item response theory with an overarching focus on model specification.

Veronica  Yan

Veronica Yan

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
+1 512 471 0546, veronicayan@austin.utexas.edu

Studies the cognitive underpinnings of learning and instruction (memory & metacognition), integrated with social-psychological processes (motivation & mindset), in direct applications to classroom practices, online instruction, and self-regulated learning.