Find Faculty

Results for: Department of Kinesiology and health education
 
 
Lawrence D Abraham

Lawrence D Abraham

Associate Dean, School of Undergraduate Studies
+1 512 232 2684, +1 512 475 7000, l.abraham@austin.utexas.edu

Focuses on biomechanic analysis and instruction, and neurological correlation to fine motor skills.

Robin D Atwood

Robin D Atwood

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
ratwood@austin.utexas.edu

Robin Atwood has spent more than 15 years working on applied research projects focused on physical activity, obesity, worksite wellness, nutrition education evaluation, diabetes, and HIV prevention and care. She is currently working on issues surrounding changes in health care delivery systems impacted by health care reform and capacity building utilizing complexity science, generative leadership and an appreciative approach.

Melva N Avalos

Melva N Avalos

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
drmnavalos@gmail.com

John  Bartholomew

John Bartholomew

Department Chair, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 6021, +1 512 471 1273, jbart@austin.utexas.edu

Researches the effect of exercise on mental health to improve mood and reduce stress.

Kimberly A Beckwith

Kimberly A Beckwith

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 3205, +1 512 471 4890, kbeckwith@austin.utexas.edu

Teaches courses focusing on physical and strength training as well as sport history and culture.

Matthew Bowers

Matthew Bowers

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 2120, mattbowers@austin.utexas.edu

Examines the management of systems for athlete development, including how different sport settings influence performance and participation over the lifespan.

Lynne J Bryant

Lynne J Bryant

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
lbryant@utexas.edu

Physical education & physical activity relationships to human capital: programming & community physical activity's influence upon adolescents.

Pamela S Buchanan

Pamela S Buchanan

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 9390, buchanan@austin.utexas.edu

Specializes in adapted physical education and working with children with disabilities by providing sensory and motor integration training.

Darla M Castelli

Darla M Castelli

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 7636, dcastelli@utexas.edu

Studies the relationship between physical activity and cognitive performance in children and adolescents.

Edward F Coyle

Edward F Coyle

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 8596, +1 512 471 8598, coyle@austin.utexas.edu

Investigates metabolic and cardiovascular factors that limit exercise performance.

Brittany N Crim

Brittany N Crim

Lecturer, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
bcrim@utexas.edu

Don S Crowley, Jr

Don S Crowley, Jr

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 2205, +1 512 232 3949, crowley@austin.utexas.edu

Experienced swimming and diving coach and water safety expert who teaches courses related to swimming.

Nicholas Enge

Nicholas Enge

Lecturer, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 3206, nickenge@austin.utexas.edu

Researches and teaches social dances from the 19th century to the present.

Brian K Farr

Brian K Farr

Director, Athletic Training Program
+1 512 471 1273, +1 512 471 9885, bfarr@austin.utexas.edu

Serves as Director of the Athletic Training Education Program and specializes in sports medicine, training athletes, athletic injuries, strength and conditioning, and sports rehabilitation.

Erik  Gnagy

Erik Gnagy

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
gnagy@austin.utexas.edu

Specializes in behavior, sports performance, and decision making in golf; teaches golf and courses need to be certified in physical education.

Lisa  Griffin

Lisa Griffin

Associate Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 2786, l.griffin@austin.utexas.edu

Investigates neural control mechanisms during muscle fatigue and aging with single-motor unit recording, and designs electrical stimulation protocols for individuals with paralysis.

Corey M Hannah

Corey M Hannah

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 6848, corey.hannah@austin.utexas.edu

Prepares students in athletic training and studies the role strain and preparedness of athletic trainers in academic roles.

Michelle  Harrison

Michelle Harrison

Research Engineering/ Scientist Associate III (4209), Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 9879, michelle.harrison@utexas.edu

Research focuses on biomarkers underlying lifestyle behaviors, metabolic health, and chronic disease in at-risk populations.

Carole K Holahan

Carole K Holahan

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 2428, c.holahan@austin.utexas.edu

Studies psychosocial factors in health behavior and health and well-being in adulthood and aging.

Hao-Yuan  Hsiao

Hao-Yuan Hsiao

Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 1782, hhsiao@austin.utexas.edu

Studies the biomechanical and neuromuscular control mechanisms of human movement and translates this knowledge into practical solutions that reduce walking-related disability.

Thomas M Hunt

Thomas M Hunt

Associate Professor & Graduate Advisor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 0994, +1 512 475 6189, tmhunt@austin.utexas.edu

Examines the intersection of sport and international political history.

Jody L Jensen

Jody L Jensen

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 2685, jljensen@austin.utexas.edu

Studies biomechanics and changes in motor competencies across a lifetime with an emphasis on posture and locomotor control including populations of autism and cerebral palsy.

Esbelle M Jowers

Esbelle M Jowers

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 6027, ejowers@austin.utexas.edu

Jowers directs three major grant projects, including the Texas Initiatives for Children's Activity & Nutrition (I-CAN!) project, the Women, Infants & Children (WIC) Retention and Engagement Study, and the PMATS/Walk Texas! Project. Texas I-CAN! is an obesity prevention project that aims to increase both physical activity and healthy eating in elementary school children. This project is currently funded through the National Institutes of Health/ Eunice Kennedy Shriver Center for Child Development.The goal is to train elementary school teachers to incorporate physical activity into their academic lessons daily and to evaluate the corresponding physical activity changes and academic impact on the participating children. This is a 5-year project that will recruit 30 elementary schools within Central Texas. Jowers was part of the creation and refinement of this program since 2001 and has extensive experience working with children, elementary school teachers, and independent school districts. The WIC Engagement and Retention Study is funded by the Department of State Health Services (DSHS)/WIC State Office to examine both quantitatively and qualitatively the factors that influence participant engagement and retention in the program. PMATS/Walk Texas! is funded by the Department of State Health Services (DSHS)/Texas Diabetes Council/Program to provide diabetes prevention and technical assistance/expertise to state-funded community diabetes prevention projects. Additionally, Dr. Jowers manages the online reporting system, termed the Program Management and Tracking System, for the Texas Department of State and Health Services. This system tracks clinical outcomes across various programs (physical activity, nutrition, diabetes self management) to determine the impact of the programs on diabetes prevention and control across the state of Texas.

Harold W Kohl, III

Harold W Kohl, III

Research Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 391 2530, hkohl@austin.utexas.edu

Specializes in public health, epidemiology and the study and promotion of physical activity for health.

Sophie  Lalande

Sophie Lalande

Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 6485, +1 512 471 8601, sophie.lalande@austin.utexas.edu

Studies the limiting factors to exercise capacity in healthy individuals and clinical populations.

Lara  Latimer

Lara Latimer

Senior Program Coordinator-Tobacco Prevention and Control, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 4351, lara.a.latimer@utexas.edu

Addressing overweight & obesity, specifically through examining how the physical and social environment influences nutrition-related behavior. Tobacco prevention among college students.

Cecil W Lee

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 8587, waynelee@austin.utexas.edu

Teaches handball and racquetball classes at beginning, intermediate, and advanced levels.

Alexandra  Loukas

Alexandra Loukas

Barbie M. and Gary L. Coleman Professor in Education, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 9388, alexandra.loukas@austin.utexas.edu

Focuses on adolescent and young adult problem behavior development, and tobacco use and cessation.

Julie  Maslowsky

Julie Maslowsky

Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 7190, maslowsky@austin.utexas.edu

Researches and develops programs in adolescent health promotion, primarily substance abuse and pregnancy prevention.

Nicole K McLagan

Nicole K McLagan

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
nmclagan@austin.utexas.edu

Teaches courses in weight training, conditioning, and aerobic activities.

Liesl  Nydegger

Liesl Nydegger

Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 5846, liesl.nydegger@austin.utexas.edu

Focuses research on reducing sexual health risk behaviors in women with multiple vulnerabilities, ethnic minorities, and illicit drug users.

Tolga  Ozyurtcu

Tolga Ozyurtcu

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 6018, tolga@austin.utexas.edu

Studies the historical, philosophical, sociocultural, and political dimensions of sport and physical culture.

Keryn E Pasch

Keryn E Pasch

Associate Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 8295, kpasch@austin.utexas.edu

Examines the relation between media influence on adolescent risk behavior such as substance use, nutrition, sleep and energy drink consumption.

Miguel  Pinedo

Miguel Pinedo

Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 8184, mpinedo@austin.utexas.edu

Dr. Pinedo's expertise is focused on how migration-related factors contribute to health disparities related to substance abuse, HIV risk, and related harms among Latino populations in the United States and Mexico. 

Geoff B Rich

Geoff B Rich

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 3948, geoff@austin.utexas.edu

Elementary and Secondary Physical Education Curriculum Teacher Education Fitness Education The culture of youth sports Service Learning

Mandy M Salinas

Mandy M Salinas

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
flyingcape@austin.utexas.edu

Biomechanics

Michael T Sanders

Michael T Sanders

Senior Lecturer, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 5405, mtsanders@austin.utexas.edu

Physical performance parameters, movement pedagogy, motor skill acquisition, and maximizing learning environments.

Darla R Smith

Darla R Smith

Clinical Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 1539, darsmith@utep.edu

Emily  Sparvero

Emily Sparvero

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 2383, sparv@austin.utexas.edu

Focuses on the development of sport policies and the ways in which professional sport teams can be leveraged to generate economic, social, and tourism benefits for host communities.

Carol J Spaulding

Carol J Spaulding

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 1539, carolspaulding@utexas.edu

Preschool children's media use, survey design, formative research and program development for low-literacy populations

Dixie  Stanforth

Dixie Stanforth

Senior Lecturer, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 3950, +1 512 471 1273, d.stanforth@austin.utexas.edu

Recognized health and fitness expert with a background in both exercise science and strategic health communication.

Philip R Stanforth

Philip R Stanforth

Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 0081, +1 512 475 9694, p.stanforth@austin.utexas.edu

As the Executive Director of the Fitness Institute of Texas, trains students on the techniques of fitness assessment.

Mary A Steinhardt

Mary A Steinhardt

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 3535, msteinhardt@austin.utexas.edu

Focuses on how individuals successfully adapt to stress and build health resilience.

Audrey J Stone

Audrey J Stone

Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 6016, +1 512 471 8589, audrey.stone@austin.utexas.edu

Studies the control of circulation during exercise, especially in those affected by diabetes.

Deane Swanson

Lecturer, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 475 6018, dswanson@austin.utexas.edu

Hirofumi  Tanaka

Hirofumi Tanaka

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 232 4801, +1 512 471 1273, htanaka@austin.utexas.edu

Studies the effects of vascular dysfunction due to aging, and the lifestyle habits that can prevent or reverse dysfunction.

Janice (Jan) S Todd

Janice (Jan) S Todd

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 0993, +1 512 471 0995, j.todd@austin.utexas.edu

Specializes in the history of strength and conditioning, doping, women and sport, and physical culture; directs the Ph.D. program in Physical Culture and Sport Studies and the Masters program in Sport Management.

Galia I Tzvetkov

Galia I Tzvetkov

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 1270, galia@austin.utexas.edu

Rachel M Watson

Rachel M Watson

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education
+1 512 471 0081, r.watson@utexas.edu