Steps to Initial Teacher Certification
Undergraduate: Students seeking initial teacher certification and a bachelor's degree must enroll in certification degree program. Current UT students who are not currently enrolled in a certification program but would like to seek certification, must meet with an academic advisor within the college that offers the desired program.
Students transferring into the University of Texas at Austin should contact an advisor for a review of their transcripts. Students who have attended other in-state institutions may check their courses through the Automated Transfer Equivalency page (ATE).
Post-Baccalaureate: Students seeking initial certification who already hold a bachelor’s degree** or higher from an accredited college or university may enroll in a certification-only program. Students should apply to the Office of Admissions as Transfer students. Post-Baccalaureate students are classified as degree holders, certification seekers. Requirements vary by program, and students seeking certification should contact an academic advisor to review their transcripts before enrolling. A foundational semester of courses may be required before entering the Professional Development Sequence.
Graduate: Students seeking initial certification who already hold a bachelor’s degree** or higher from an accredited college or university may enroll in a graduate degree certification program. Requirements for graduate programs vary, please review the desired degree program page and contact the department for specific details. Students must apply and be accepted through the Graduate School.
** Students who have earned their bachelor degree from a college or university in a country other than the United States will need to have their transcripts evaluated and should speak to a program advisor before applying. Additional coursework may be required.
Professional Development Sequence
In addition to meeting the minimum coursework and scholastic requirements, students must apply online to the Professional Development Sequence (PDS) to complete the certification degree program. Admission to the PDS is restricted, and the College of Education requires a 2.5 minimum GPA for admittance. GPA requirements in other colleges vary by program. Students should contact their academic advisor for admission requirements. Please review the Professional Development Sequence page for further details.
Students who have completed all of the certification program requirements and the application steps listed in the Certification Checklist will be recommended to the Texas Education Agency (TEA) for certification. Students will not be recommended if they are missing coursework or have not complete all items on the certification checklist. TEA will certify the students within 3-5 business days of receiving the University Recommendation.
All students must apply for certification within three years of completing their PDS. Students who wait longer than 3 years to apply for certification are required to submit an appeal to the Former Student Appeals Committee. Additional coursework or field experience may be required before the student can be recommended to the State for certification due to legislative changes.
Students with questions on the certification process may contact the Certification Officer at (512) 471-3485.
Note: In accordance with Texas Civil Statutes, the Commissioner of Education may suspend or revoke a certificate, or refuse to issue one, for a person who has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor for a crime that directly relates to the duties and responsibilities of the teaching profession.