Alderson Lecture and Awards Ceremony – Virtual

Apr 20, 2021 - Apr 20, 2021
12:00 am - 11:45 pm (CST)

Marisol Corbitt


The Kinesiology and Health Education Hall of Honor recognizes the achievements and contributions of KHE faculty, former students, and friends to the Department of Kinesiology and Health Education at The University of Texas and to the professional fields related to physical activity and health. Induction into the Hall of Honor–the highest honor bestowed by the KHE Department–will be based on a demonstration in one or more specific areas of leadership, professional involvement, service, and academic research.

2021 Honorees

Michael Haynes

Distinguished Community Contributor
Michael Haynes
Executive Director,
Lone Star Paralysis Foundation

Mickey Little

Distinguished Alumna
Dr. Mickey Little
Texas A&M University

Mary Buice Alderson (left) and C.J “Shorty” Alderson (right)

The Alderson Lecture and Awards Celebration is presented each year in honor of the late Dr. C.J. (Shorty) Alderson and the late Dr. Mary Buice Alderson, former members of the faculty of the Department of Kinesiology and Health Education and 2007 inductees of the Kinesiology and Health Education Hall of Honor. Few people have had such positive effects on a profession as did the Aldersons. They served a combined 85 years as physical educators, most of that time at the University of Texas at Austin, and they touched the lives of thousands of individuals through their teaching and service, as consultants, and in professional associations.