Hall of Honor

The Kinesiology and Health Education Hall of Honor recognizes the achievements and contributions of KHE faculty, former students, and friends to the Department of Kinesiology and Health Education at The University of Texas and to the professional fields related to physical activity and health. Induction into the Hall of Honor--the highest honor bestowed by the KHE Department--will be based on a demonstration in one or more specific areas of leadership, professional involvement, service, and academic research.

2022 Ceremony Information

When: Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Time: 11:30 AM
Location: The H.J. Lutcher Stark Center for Physical Culture and Sports
Questions: Alex Loukas

    2022 Honorees

    Photo of Baker Harrell

    Distinguished Community Contributor
    Dr. Baker Harrell
    Founder and Former CEO
    It's Time Texas

    Photo of Jeff Horowitz

    Distinguished Alumnus
    Dr. Jeffrey Horowitz
    University of Michigan

    View past inductees


    To nominate an individual for the Hall of Honor, the nomination form must be submitted/postmarked by the deadline each year. The announcement of winners will be made by January 1 each year, with formal induction to occur during the annual Alderson Lecture in late March/early April.

    Download the Hall of Honor nomination form PDF icon

    The deadline is Friday, October 11th.

    Hall of Honor Criteria

    A person may be inducted into the HOH via the designation of any of the criteria shown below. Induction into the Hall of Honor may only occur once, and the inductee may not have held an appointment nor have been a student in the department for the previous three years.

    • Distinguished Faculty: Achieved national prominence (during professional career); contributed significant and long time service to KHE or state/national professional organization. Must have been a KHE faculty member at least five years.
    • Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna: Former graduate student who has achieved prominence and made significant contributions to the field of physical activity and/or health (broadly defined) at the state, national, or world level.
    • Community/State/National Contributor: Contributed substantial and significant support to the Department of Kinesiology & Health Education at The University of Texas at Austin and/or the profession of kinesiology and/or health.