ELP Doctoral Candidate Honored with Harrington Dissertation Fellowship; Five Current Students Harrington Fellows

Educational Leadership and Policy (ELP) doctoral candidate Dwuana A. R. Bradley has been awarded the Donald D. Harrington Dissertation Fellowship, the highest graduate fellowship award given by The University of Texas at Austin.

Bradley’s specializations include marginalized populations across the P-20 pipeline, critical policy analysis, social stratification, and mixed methods. She previously received the Jesse H. Jones Endowed Fellowship and the Program in Higher Education Leadership Continuing Endowed Fellowship. She was recently published in Texas Education Review and Community College Review.

Says ELP Chair Victor Saenz, “This fellowship is a testament to Dwuana Bradley’s innovative research agenda and extraordinary potential. Our department was delighted to nominate her, is proud of her achievement, and is excited to see what comes next for her and her work.”

The Harrington Dissertation Fellowship is extremely competitive. Each year, 16-20 doctoral students become Harrington Fellows, and only four or five doctoral candidates receive Harrington Dissertation Fellowships. Only the Dissertation Fellows come from the graduate population at UT Austin. The Dissertation Fellowship provides a $40,000 stipend, payment of tuition and fees, and other benefits.

Since 2016 the College of Education has had five doctoral students who are recruited as Harrington Fellows, including this year’s new Fellow, Ellyn Goldberg. Goldberg is interested in exploring how to best encourage top undergraduates to consider entering teaching as well as how to best prepare them for success once they do. Earning her doctorate in STEM Education, Goldberg says that she wants to prepare “the next generation of teachers to love mathematics and instill that love in their students.”

Other current Harrington Fellows include Joanna Batt, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, and Brendan Schuetze, Norian Caporale-Berkowitz, and Caroline Carberry, Department of Educational Psychology.

Harrington Faculty and Graduate Fellows become lifetime members of the Harrington Society, which is designed to build a sense of community among the scholars through special programs and events that include seminars, receptions, and monthly informal luncheons.

For more on the Harrington Fellows, visit the Harrington Fellows website.