Find Faculty

Results for: Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
 
 
Celeste D Alexander

Celeste D Alexander

Research Associate and Lecturer, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 471 4528, celeste.alexander@austin.utexas.edu

Cassandre G Alvarado

Executive Director, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 232 3997, cassandre.alvarado@austin.utexas.edu

Edgar W Bessent

Professor Emeritus, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
wbessent@gmail.com

Edward M Bohlig

Edward M Bohlig

Senior Research Associate, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 232 6456, bohlig@cccse.org

As Assistant Director of Research at CCCSE, Bohlig's research interests center on student success at community colleges and the effects of enrollment status and developmental education on persistence and completion.

Amanda L Bright

Amanda L Bright

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
abrownson@tasbo.org

Beth E Bukoski

Beth E Bukoski

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 232 4419, bb@austin.utexas.edu

Current Projects: Socialization Experiences of Queer and Trans Graduate Students Working Mothers in Student Affairs Men in Student Affairs Strategies of Resistance of Latinas in STEM

Rebecca M Callahan

Rebecca M Callahan

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 471 8347, callahan@prc.utexas.edu

Bilingual Education, immigrant adolescents' academic preparation, language minority students and students identified with learning disabilities in the STEM pipeline, language policy in education, immigrant adolescents' civic development, the transition to young adulthood among immigrants; minorities, adolescents, education

Debra  Cantu

Debra Cantu

UT Austin Principalship Program Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 471 6137, debra.cantu@austin.utexas.edu

Norma V Cantu

Norma V Cantu

Ken McIntyre Professor for Excellence in School Leadership, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 232 7111, +1 512 475 8593, metrocan2@aol.com

Civil rights, education law, disbility law, school reform, and the intersection of law and policy in education.

Joshua  Childs

Joshua Childs

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
joshuachilds@austin.utexas.edu

Nelson W Coulter

Nelson W Coulter

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
nelsoncoulter@austin.utexas.edu

Jennifer P Cullinane Hege

Jennifer P Cullinane Hege

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
jenna.cullinanehege@thecb.state.tx.us

time to degree, transfer, mathematics education, high school-to-college transitions, developmental education, scaling educational innovations, and improving the success of underserved student populations in higher education

David E Dematthews

David E Dematthews

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 232 2413, ddematthews@austin.utexas.edu

Dr. DeMatthews' research focuses on urban school and district leadership, inclusive practices for students with disabilities, and school improvement with a focus on addressing inequities in classrooms, schools, and communities. Dr. DeMatthews' work has been published in Educational Administration Quarterly, Teachers College Record, Urban Education, Education Policy Analysis Archives, Journal of School Leadership, Journal of Latinos and Education, Journal of Research on Leadership Education, and Leadership and Policy in Schools. Dr. DeMatthews has recently authored a book, Community Engaged Leadership for Social Justice: A Critical Approach in Urban Schools with Routledge. In addition, his work has also been featured in Education Week, USA Today, Baltimore Sun, Texas Tribune, Houston Chronicle, Austin American Statesman, and the El Paso Times.

Nolan Estes

Professor Emeritus, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
nestes.ut@gmail.com

Liliana M Garces

Liliana M Garces

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
liliana_garces@utexas.edu

Equitable inclusion policies for marginalized populations in education; Use and influence of research in law.

Linda L Garcia

Assistant Director, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 232 8428, linda.garcia@cccse.org

Douglas C Garrard

Douglas C Garrard

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 232 2850, +1 512 471 5017, garrardd@austin.utexas.edu

Matt S Giani

Matt S Giani

Director of Research and Data Science, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 232 6809, matt.giani@austin.utexas.edu

Juan C Gonzales

Juan C Gonzales

Professor of Practice, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 475 8585, jgonzalez@austin.utexas.edu

Terrance L Green

Terrance L Green

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
tgreen@austin.utexas.edu

Dr. Green's research focuses on the nexus of urban school reform and socially just community development with a particular focus on school and community leaders. Additionally, his research interests include ways that urban policy can be leveraged to improve educational outcomes and community development in low-income neighborhoods of color. His work has been featured nationally in popular press venues such as TIME, Austin American Statesman, Dallas Morning News, Texas Tribune, Detroit Free Press, and the McAllen Monitor. Here are a few of those pieces: Op-ed: http://time.com/4446768/back-to-school-questions/ Op-ed: What it will take to truly desegregate Detroit schools College of Education Video Texas Tribune Interview

Jennifer J Holme

Jennifer J Holme

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
jholme@austin.utexas.edu

Dr. Holme's research focuses on the politics and implementation of educational policy, with a particular focus on the relationship among school reform, equity, and diversity in schools. Her research interests include: school desegregation (currently focusing on inter-district programs), high stakes testing (exit level testing); and school choice policy.

Huriya  Jabbar

Huriya Jabbar

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
jabbar@austin.utexas.edu

Huriya Jabbar's research examines the social and political dimensions of market-based reforms and privatization in education, including school choice and decision-making in K-12 and higher education contexts.

Sharon H Justice

Lecturer, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 471 7551, dsshj@austin.utexas.edu

Manuel J Justiz

Manuel J Justiz

Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 232 1695, mjustiz@austin.utexas.edu

Education and public policy; politics of education; equal access for minorities in education systems; Latin American programs

Marilyn C Kameen

Marilyn C Kameen

Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 232 1695, +1 512 232 1696, mkameen@austin.utexas.edu

Harrison  Keller

Harrison Keller

Deputy to the President for Strategy and Policy
+1 512 232 8277, harrison.keller@austin.utexas.edu

Mylon  Kirksy

Mylon Kirksy

Director - Residence Life, University Housing & Dining
+1 512 471 6177, m.kirksy@austin.utexas.edu

William F Lasher

Professor Emeritus, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
blasher@austin.utexas.edu

Edward J Leach

Edward J Leach

Executive Director, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 471 1430, leach@austin.utexas.edu

Linda Lee

Linda Lee

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
llee654@austin.utexas.edu

Coral M Noonan

Coral M Noonan

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 232 8430, noonan@cccse.org

Ruben D Olivarez

Ruben D Olivarez

Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 475 8576, rolivarez@austin.utexas.edu

Martha N Ovando

Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 471 7551, mnovando@austin.utexas.edu

Scholarly work has concentrated on understanding the processes related to the supervision of instruction and school personnel; (1) explore the instructional needs of teachers and their professional development within higher education; in such work to analyze approaches to inservice education as well as faculty needs; (2) processes of instructional supervision, including instructional modules, feedback, instructional assessment and the evaluation of teachers; explore the post-observation processes utilized to improve instruction.

Patrick G Pringle

Patrick G Pringle

Adjunct Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
ppringle1@austin.rr.com

Soncia  Reagins-Lilly

Soncia Reagins-Lilly

Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students, Office of the President
+1 512 471 1133, soncia.r.lilly@austin.utexas.edu

Higher Education policy, administration and finance; strategic planning; Leadership Development; Cultural Competence and International Cultural exchange

Richard J Reddick

Richard J Reddick

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 471 7551, +1 512 475 8587, richard.reddick@austin.utexas.edu

Mentoring in higher education; status of African-American faculty in higher education; historically Black colleges and universities; best practices in promoting inclusivity and diversity in higher education; status of African-American families in American society; experiences of students of color in American higher education; qualitative research methods (phenomenological interviewing).

Pedro  Reyes

Pedro Reyes

Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 475 8569, preyes@austin.utexas.edu

My scholarly work is focused on the school conditions fostering academic success for children of poverty and the stratification of learning opportunities for children of color. Also, I am engaged in evaluating state and local education policies that improve student success throughout the education pipeline. Over the years I have raised more than 22 million dollars in research and development funds from The Spencer Foundation, The Annenberg Foundation, the Spencer T. and Ann W. Olin Foundation, the Texas Education Agency, the National Science Foundation, the Houston Endowment, Inc., The Brown Foundation, and the U.S. Department of Education, among others. Pedro Reyes is the author of Resiliency and Success: Migrant children in the US (2004); Lessons From High Poverty High Performance Schools: Creating Learning Communities (1999); and Teachers and Their Workplace: Commitment, Performance, and Productivity (1990). In addition, he has authored more than 75 articles, book chapters, monographs, and reviews and has presented more than 50 papers at national academic conferences. His research has appeared in such journals as Educational Administration Quarterly, The High School Journal, Journal of Educational Research, and the Hispanic Journal of Behavioral Sciences. He was Editor of the Book Review Section of Educational Researcher, Associate Editor of the International Journal of Qualitative Studies in Education, and reviewer of many other scholarly journals.

Sylvia R Reyna

Sylvia R Reyna

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
sreyna@austin.utexas.edu

Prepares school district executives to lead socially just and equitable learning centers focused on academic excellence for all students.

John E Roueche

Professor Emeritus, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
roueche@mail.utexas.edu

Victor  Saenz

Victor Saenz

Department Chair, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 232 7519, +1 512 471 7551, vsaenz@austin.utexas.edu

Higher education policy issues; Educational benefits of racial/ethnic diversity; Desegregation issues; Access, transition, and retention issues for underrepresented college students, especially Latino males in higher education; Policy impacts of affirmative action and remedial education policies; Assessment issues in higher education (learning outcomes)

Trinidad San Miguel

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
trinidad.sanmiguel@austin.utexas.edu

Julie  Schell

Julie Schell

Executive Director of Learning Design, Effectiveness, and Innovation, School of Design and Creative Technologies, College of Fine Arts
+1 512 232 1772, julie.schell@austin.utexas.edu

Design Thinking Design Education Higher Education Human-Centered Design Learning Experience Design Instructional Design Online Learning Design Science of Learning Learning Design

Lauren  Schudde

Lauren Schudde

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 471 1623, schudde@austin.utexas.edu

Jay D Scribner

Professor Emeritus, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
jayscrib@mail.utexas.edu

Edwin R Sharpe

Edwin R Sharpe

Professor of Practice, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 475 8577, esharpe@mail.utexas.edu

Latoya C Smith

Latoya C Smith

Senior Associate Athletics Director, Student Services, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 232 3818, latoya.smith@athletics.utexas.edu

Patricia A Somers

Patricia A Somers

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
pasomers@austin.utexas.edu

Betty Jeanne Taylor

Betty Jeanne Taylor

Assistant Vice President, Office of the Vice President for Diversity and Community Engagement
+1 512 232 1600, bjwtaylor@austin.utexas.edu

social identity development and intersectionality inclusive climates experiences of faculty of color at predominantly white institutions

Angela  Valenzuela

Angela Valenzuela

Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 232 6008, valenz@austin.utexas.edu

Urban education from a sociological and multicultural perspective, with a focus on minority youth in schools, particularly at the K-12 level. Other areas of interest include immigration, human rights, and U.S.-Mexico binational relations.

Aaron W Voyles

Aaron W Voyles

Director, Residence Halls Operations, University Housing and Dining
+1 512 232 5602, aaron.voyles@austin.utexas.edu

Lonnie H Wagstaff

Professor Emeritus, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
moxley@utexas.edu

Evelyn N Waiwaiole

Evelyn N Waiwaiole

Executive Director, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 232 8247, ewaiwaiole@mail.utexas.edu

Joe  Wilcox

Joe Wilcox

Specialist, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
+1 512 475 0000, joe.wilcox@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise in Title IV policy and administration and higher education fundraising. Focused on issues of college affordability, under-represented student recruitment, and donor relations.