Find Faculty

Results for: Department of Curriculum and Instruction
 
 
Paty  Abril-Gonzalez

Paty Abril-Gonzalez

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
abrilgon@austin.utexas.edu

Jennifer K Adair

Jennifer K Adair

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
jenniferadair@utexas.edu

Immigration and early childhood education; Agency and young children; Global, comparative early childhood; Early childhood teacher education; Racial identities and young children; Impact of educational ethnography on teacher education and educational policy

Heather T Augustine

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
heather.augustine@utexas.edu

Flávio S Azevedo

Flávio S Azevedo

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
flavio@austin.utexas.edu

My research focuses primarily on theorizing the nature of short- and long-term interests in STEM disciplines, and designing learning environments that are truly engaging to students. This has led me to investigate learning and interest-based participation in settings as diverse as classrooms, after-school programs, and hobby practices (model rocketry and amateurs astronomy). Intersecting with this central research focus, my other research interests include the use and creation of technical representations and the way these mediate knowing and learning; the discourse and practices of engaged participation in STEM classrooms; and social justice issues in STEM education. This work has appeared in publications such as the Journal of the Learning Sciences, Cognition and Instruction, and the Journal of Mathematical Behavior.

James P Barufaldi

James P Barufaldi

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
jamesb@utexas.edu

Curriculum design, teacher education, science education

George M Blanco

George M Blanco

Associate Professor Emeritus, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
937glisan1@gmail.com

John G Bordie

Professor Emeritus, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
jgbordie@utexas.edu

Maura  Borrego

Maura Borrego

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
maura.borrego@austin.utexas.edu

Maura Borrego is Professor of Mechanical Engineering and STEM Education (Curriculum & Instruction) at the University of Texas at Austin. She previously served as a Program Director at the National Science Foundation, on the board of the American Society for Engineering Education, and as an associate dean and director of interdisciplinary graduate programs. Her research awards include U.S. Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), a National Science Foundation CAREER award, and two outstanding publication awards from the American Educational Research Association for her journal articles. Dr. Borrego is a Deputy Editor for Journal of Engineering Education. Her current research interests include Latinx transfer students, graduate education, and undergraduate instructional change. Dr. Borrego directs the Graduate Certificate in Engineering Education and teaches graduate level courses on teaching, assessment and curriculum design in engineering. All of Dr. Borrego's degrees are in Materials Science and Engineering. Her M.S. and Ph.D. are from Stanford University, and her B.S. is from University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Anthony L Brown

Anthony L Brown

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 3902, alb@austin.utexas.edu

Anthony Brown's research focuses on historical and contemporary issues and discourses concerning African American students in schools and society; race relations, cultural diversity, education

Christopher P Brown

Christopher P Brown

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 2288, cpbrown@utexas.edu

Impact of policymakers' high stakes reforms on teachers; early learning standards; pre-kindergarten assessment and alignment with elementary school; teacher education; curriculum development; the changed kindergarten

Keffrelyn D Brown

Keffrelyn D Brown

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 4257, keffrelyn@austin.utexas.edu

teacher education; curriculum theory; underserved student populations; sociocultural knowledge; African American/Black education; race relations

Lynne J Bryant

Lynne J Bryant

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
lbryant@utexas.edu

Lucy  Camarillo

Lucy Camarillo

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 471 3434, camarillo-may@austin.utexas.edu

Heather L Carter

Professor Emeritus, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
hcarter@utexas.edu

Denise  Davila

Denise Davila

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
ddavila@utexas.edu

Ozro L Davis

Professor Emeritus, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
oldavisjr@mail.utexas.edu

Noah  De Lissovoy

Noah De Lissovoy

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 1954, delissovoy@austin.utexas.edu

critical pedagogy and cultural studies; globalization, education, and social movements; race, racism, and coloniality; critical and marxist theory; curriculum studies; feminist philosophy

Bonnie M Elliott

Bonnie M Elliott

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 659 8309, belliott@utexas.edu

Susan B Empson

Susan B Empson

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
empson@austin.utexas.edu

Elementary children's mathematics thinking; sociocognitive theories of learning, classroom processes; teacher development

Edmund J Farrell

Professor Emeritus, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
farrell@utexas.edu

Tracey T Flores

Tracey T Flores

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
tflores@austin.utexas.edu

Douglas E Foley

Douglas E Foley

Professor Emeritus, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
dfoley@austin.utexas.edu

American ethnic and race relations; educational policy for ethnic minorities; ethnographic research; critical theory

Joe L Frost

Joe L Frost

Professor Emeritus, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
jfrost@mail.utexas.edu

Playground design; developmentally appropriate children's play; optimum play environments

Maria J Gonzalez Tristan

Maria J Gonzalez Tristan

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
mgonzalez-howard@austin.utexas.edu

Frank J Guszak

Professor Emeritus, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
j.guszak32@gmail.com

Dottie R Hall

Dottie R Hall

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 475 8573, dottiehall@utexas.edu

ethical campus leadership, campus administration, educational collaboration

Louis  Harrison

Louis Harrison

Charles H. Spence, Sr. Centennial Professor in Education, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 4785, lharrison@austin.utexas.edu

Race and culture in physical activity and sport; identity development patterns of African Americans, race relations

James V Hoffman

James V Hoffman

Priscilla Pond Flawn Regents Professor in Early Childhood Education, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 471 4041, jhoffman@austin.utexas.edu

My interests focus on three areas: (1) Teacher preparation, (2) The classroom literacy environment, and (3) Promoting literacy achievement in developing countries. Methods: Descriptive, correlational, experimental, content analysis, program evaluation.

Elaine K Horwitz

Elaine K Horwitz

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 4108, horwitz@austin.utexas.edu

Foreign language anxiety; learner beliefs about language learning, language learning strategies

Joan  Hughes

Joan Hughes

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 4145, joanh@austin.utexas.edu

K-12 Technology Integration, Teacher Professional Development, Online Learning, Technology Leadership, 1:1 Technology Integration, Research, Consulting for EdTech Startups

Julie M Jensen

Professor Emeritus, Department of Curriculum and Instruction


Xiaofen  Keating

Xiaofen Keating

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 3565, xk93@austin.utexas.edu

Research foci are (a) measurement and assessment in physical activity settings using technology; (b) fitness education and health-related fitness knowledge testing; and (c) healthy lifestyle promotion among university students and technologies

Deborah C Kelt

Deborah C Kelt

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
dkelt@utexas.edu

Grace  Kim

Grace Kim

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
grace@austin.utexas.edu

Amy L Kinkade

Amy L Kinkade

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
akinkade@utexas.edu

Social and Emotional Learning Teacher Evaluation Administrator Development Supervision of Teachers Differentiation

Eric  Knuth

Eric Knuth

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 9683, eric.knuth@austin.utexas.edu

My program of research concerns the meaningful engagement of students in mathematical practices and their development of increasingly more sophisticated ways of engaging in those practices. My research focuses, in particular, on practices related to algebraic reasoning and to mathematical argumentation (justifying and proving). A primary goal of my work is to develop sufficiently detailed accounts of learning and instruction in classroom contexts to guide the development of instructional practices, curricular materials, and teacher education/professional development aimed at facilitating students' mathematical development.

Judith W Lindfors

Professor Emeritus, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
judith.lindfors@mail.utexas.edu

Min  Liu

Min Liu

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 6248, +1 512 471 5942, mliu@austin.utexas.edu

Design and development of learner-centered environments with new media and emerging technologies; Developing technology enabled cognitive tools to support higher-level thinking skills; Problem-based and Project based learning; Game-based learning; Instructional design; Online Instruction; Second language learning Research cited on Google Scholar

Tia  Madkins

Tia Madkins

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 471 7224, tmadkins@austin.utexas.edu

Beth Maloch

Beth Maloch

Assoc Dean for Teacher Education, Student Affairs and Admin, College of Education
+1 512 471 3476, bmaloch@austin.utexas.edu

Teacher education; Literature discussion; Informational texts in primary classrooms; Classroom discourse

Jill A Marshall

Jill A Marshall

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 9685, marshall@austin.utexas.edu

My background is in physics and my primary research interest is physics, physical science, and engineering education, particularly student understanding and development of mathematical and physical models. I also have a strong research focus in secondary teacher preparation in STEM and expertise in teacher development in STEM, especially the nationally recognized UTeach model. I am currently coordinating with colleagues in the Jackson School of Geosciences and the Cockrell School of Engineering to evaluate the incorporation of modeling and design activities into STEM curriculum and teacher preparation.

Sheri  Mycue

Sheri Mycue

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 2566, smycue@utexas.edu

Fikile  Nxumalo

Fikile Nxumalo

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 475 7477, fnxumalo@austin.utexas.edu

environmental early childhood education, inquiry-based curriculum, decolonial pedagogies for young children, participatory action research in early childhood teacher education

Katherina A Payne

Katherina A Payne

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
kapayne@utexas.edu

Her research and teaching interests focus on understanding, questioning, and furthering the relationship between public schools and the health and renewal of democracy. Professor Payne's work as a teacher educator and researcher seeks to better prepare and support elementary teachers as democratic educators who can create more equitable classrooms and learning experiences for all students to see themselves as able and active members of our democratic society. Currently, her work in social studies education focuses on the civic lives of young children and aims to promote recognition of the every day civic actions in which young children engage.

Anthony J Petrosino

Anthony J Petrosino

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 9681, ajpetrosino@austin.utexas.edu

Project based Instruction, children's experimentation strategies, engineering education, development of expertise, informal learning, problem solving in STEM disciplines, at-risk populations

Nayelli  Ramos

Nayelli Ramos

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
nayelli.ramos@utexas.edu

Stuart  Reifel

Stuart Reifel

Professor Emeritus, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
sr10@utexas.edu

Early childhood education; play therapy; early development

Paul E Resta

Paul E Resta

Ruth Knight Millikan Centennial Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 471 6128, resta@austin.utexas.edu

Technology as a catalyst for systemic change in the teaching-learning process, web-based collaborative learning environments, infusion of technology into teacher education programs, assisting developing countries to create plans for technology integration in education

John M Rich

Professor Emeritus, Department of Curriculum and Instruction


Catherine  Riegle-Crumb

Catherine Riegle-Crumb

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 2388, +1 512 475 8642, riegle@austin.utexas.edu

Haydee M Rodriguez

Haydee M Rodriguez

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 5750, +1 512 471 5942, taina@austin.utexas.edu

Nancy L Roser

Nancy L Roser

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
nlroser@utexas.edu

Use of children's literature in literacy programs, Classroom discourse; response to literature

Cinthia S Salinas

Cinthia S Salinas

Department Chair, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 3539, cssalinas@austin.utexas.edu

Dr. Salinas examines the experiences of Latina/o teachers and their students in elementary and secondary social studies classrooms. Her focus on critical historical inquiry and critical geography considers how the civic identities, agency and membership of Latinas/os are included in the teaching of the social studies. Dr. Salinas attention upon elementary bilingual students and their teachers as well as secondary late arrival immigrant students and their teachers emphasizes the importance of historical positionality, historical funds of knowledge and cultural citizenship.

Victor  Sampson

Victor Sampson

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 7504, victor.sampson@utexas.edu

Supporting Student Participation in Disciplinary Practices Design and Enactment of Innovative Instructional Materials and Strategies Teacher Thinking and Learning Assessment

Allison  Skerrett

Allison Skerrett

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 4883, askerrett@utexas.edu

Secondary English education in urban contexts Adolescent literacy practices in school and outside school contexts Transnational youths' literacy practices and learning across transnational social and educational settings Sociocultural influences on teaching and learning

Jennifer C Smith

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
jenn.smith@utexas.edu

Luis  Urrieta

Luis Urrieta

Suzanne B. and John L. Adams Endowed Professor in Education, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 4129, urrieta@austin.utexas.edu

Methodologies and Educational Research; Citizenship and Social Studies Education; Migration; Cultural Pedagogies in Education

Melissa R Wetzel

Melissa R Wetzel

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 1423, mmwetzel@utexas.edu

Preservice Teacher Learning in Literacy, Critical Approaches to Discourse Analysis and Ethnography, New Literacy Studies and Multimodality

Molly Trinh Wiebe

Molly Trinh Wiebe

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 1195, mwiebe@utexas.edu

critical pedagogy; critical literacy; preservice teacher education; restorative practices in education

Jo Worthy

Jo Worthy

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 565 8638, worthy@mail.utexas.edu

Alternatives to Ability Grouping Reading Interests and Preferences Students Who Find School Challenging Social Construction of Disability, Dyslexia, and Reading Challenges