Find Faculty

Results for: Department of Curriculum and Instruction
 
 
Paty  Abril-Gonzalez

Paty Abril-Gonzalez

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
abrilgon@austin.utexas.edu

Research interests include relationship building among bilingual Latinx elementary students, their families, and their teachers.

Jennifer K Adair

Jennifer K Adair

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
jenniferadair@utexas.edu

Research interests focus on inequities in early schooling and the intersection of immigration, race and early childhood.

Heather T Augustine

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
heather.augustine@utexas.edu

Flávio S Azevedo

Flávio S Azevedo

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
flavio@austin.utexas.edu

Investigates interest-based participation in STEM disciplines in classrooms and extra-curricular activities.

Maura  Borrego

Maura Borrego

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
maura.borrego@austin.utexas.edu

Studies engineering and STEM higher education, including faculty, graduate students and undergraduates.

Anthony L Brown

Anthony L Brown

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 3902, alb@austin.utexas.edu

Focuses on historical and contemporary issues and discourses concerning African American students in schools and society.

Christopher P Brown

Christopher P Brown

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 2288, cpbrown@utexas.edu

Centers research on how early childhood stakeholders respond to and conceptualize policies affecting the education of children

Keffrelyn D Brown

Keffrelyn D Brown

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 4257, keffrelyn@austin.utexas.edu

Creates scholarship based around teacher education, especially relating to race and culture.

Lucy  Camarillo

Lucy Camarillo

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 471 3434, camarillo-may@austin.utexas.edu

A member of the UT Proyecto Maestría Collaborative, she is a leader in Bilingual and Bicultural Education.

Kelly Cruise

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
kellycruise@austin.utexas.edu

Denise  Davila

Denise Davila

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
ddavila@utexas.edu

Studies community-based early literacy education programs for ethnically, linguistically, and socioeconomically diverse groups of children.

Noah  De Lissovoy

Noah De Lissovoy

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 1954, delissovoy@austin.utexas.edu

Examines effects of race, class and capital in schools and society; investigates and extends traditions of critical pedagogy and philosophy.

Bonnie M Elliott

Bonnie M Elliott

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 659 8309, belliott@utexas.edu

Helps educators develop a clear vision of how they want to teach before going out to their first professional jobs.

Tracey T Flores

Tracey T Flores

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
tflores@austin.utexas.edu

Interests include family literacy, specifically family writing and practices for Latina mothers and daughters, as a springboard for advocacy and empowerment of families and teachers.

Maria J Gonzalez tristan

Maria J Gonzalez tristan

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
mgonzalez-howard@austin.utexas.edu

Explores the intersections of teaching and learning science with bilingualism development, with a focus on supporting culturally and linguistically diverse students' engagement in science practices.

Dottie R Hall

Dottie R Hall

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 475 8573, dottiehall@utexas.edu

Explores ethical campus leadership and factors that lead to successful leadership of educators.

Louis  Harrison

Louis Harrison

Charles H. Spence, Sr. Centennial Professor in Education, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 4785, lharrison@austin.utexas.edu

Explores issues in race and culture in physical activity and sport as well as identity development patterns of African Americans.

James V Hoffman

James V Hoffman

Priscilla Pond Flawn Regents Professor in Early Childhood Education, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 471 4041, jhoffman@austin.utexas.edu

Focuses on teacher preparation, the classroom literacy environment and promoting literacy in developing countries.

Elaine K Horwitz

Elaine K Horwitz

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 4108, horwitz@austin.utexas.edu

Studies language acquisition from the perspective of second language learners, and how they affect the learning process.

Joan  Hughes

Joan Hughes

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 4145, joanh@austin.utexas.edu

Studies how teachers and K-12 students integrate technologies in-and-outside the classroom for subject area learning.

Xiaofen  Keating

Xiaofen Keating

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 3565, xk93@austin.utexas.edu

Researches fitness education, physical activity promotion among k-16 students, and technologies related to physical education teacher education.

Deborah C Kelt

Deborah C Kelt

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
dkelt@utexas.edu

Brings her experience in literacy education to UT with a specialization in preparing secondary teachers to work in urban schools.

Grace  Kim

Grace Kim

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
grace@austin.utexas.edu

Studies literacy, language, and multicultural education, especially involving new media and globalization.

Amy L Kinkade

Amy L Kinkade

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
akinkade@utexas.edu

Focuses on creating positive learning communities via social and emotional learning, organization/management, and differentiating instruction.

Eric  Knuth

Eric Knuth

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 9683, eric.knuth@austin.utexas.edu

Studies student engagement in mathematical practices related to algebraic reasoning and mathematical argumentation.

Min  Liu

Min Liu

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 6248, +1 512 471 5942, mliu@austin.utexas.edu

Designs and researches interactive learner-centered environments for all age levels with new media and emerging technologies.

Tia  Madkins

Tia Madkins

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 471 7224, tmadkins@austin.utexas.edu

Explores equity-focused STEM teaching and learning with an emphasis on elementary science education in urban contexts.

Beth Maloch

Beth Maloch

Associate Dean for Administration and Educator Preparation, College of Education
+1 512 471 3476, bmaloch@austin.utexas.edu

Examines literacy teacher preparation, specifically the role of coaching and mentoring that occurs inside programs.

Jill A Marshall

Jill A Marshall

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 9685, marshall@austin.utexas.edu

Teaches courses for pre-service in STEM subjects and explores student understanding of mathematical and physical models.

Sheri  Mycue

Sheri Mycue

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 2566, smycue@utexas.edu

Coordinates the placement of teachers in field experiences and prepares students for ESL education.

Fikile  Nxumalo

Fikile Nxumalo

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 475 7477, fnxumalo@austin.utexas.edu

Focuses on environmental and place-based education, as well as inquiry-driven curriculum in early education.

Katherina A Payne

Katherina A Payne

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
kapayne@utexas.edu

Interests focus on understanding and furthering the relationship between public schools and the health and renewal of democracy.

Anthony J Petrosino

Anthony J Petrosino

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 9681, ajpetrosino@austin.utexas.edu

Research interests include students understanding of experimentation, engineering education, data modeling, and the development of expertise.

Nayelli  Ramos

Nayelli Ramos

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
nayelli.ramos@utexas.edu

Prepares students to become educators in bilingual and ESL education and mentors novice bilingual educators.

Paul E Resta

Paul E Resta

Ruth Knight Millikan Centennial Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 471 6128, resta@austin.utexas.edu

Examines how integrating technology into the classroom can be a catalyst for systemic change in the teaching-learning process.

Catherine  Riegle-Crumb

Catherine Riegle-Crumb

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 2388, +1 512 475 8642, riegle@austin.utexas.edu

Focuses on gender and racial/ethnic inequality in educational experiences and student achievement in STEM fields.

Haydee M Rodriguez

Haydee M Rodriguez

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 5750, +1 512 471 5942, taina@austin.utexas.edu

Prepares students to become educators in bilingual and ESL education and mentors novice bilingual educators.

Cinthia S Salinas

Cinthia S Salinas

Department Chair, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 3539, cssalinas@austin.utexas.edu

Research focuses on bilingual and ESL education, high-stakes social studies testing, and activism in education.

Victor  Sampson

Victor Sampson

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 7504, victor.sampson@utexas.edu

Examines how people negotiate meaning when participating in the practices of science.

Allison  Skerrett

Allison Skerrett

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 4883, askerrett@utexas.edu

Focuses on secondary English and literacy education in urban contexts, including among transnational youth.

Jennifer C Smith

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
jenn.smith@utexas.edu

Luis  Urrieta

Luis Urrieta

Suzanne B. and John L. Adams Endowed Professor in Education, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 4129, urrieta@austin.utexas.edu

Follows trends around cultural and racial identities, agency, migration, and social movements in education.

Melissa R Wetzel

Melissa R Wetzel

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 1423, mmwetzel@utexas.edu

Focuses on how preservice teachers integrate critical literacy and culturally relevant practices into field-based literacy teaching.

Molly Trinh Wiebe

Molly Trinh Wiebe

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 232 1195, mwiebe@utexas.edu

Focuses on preservice teacher education, critical literacy pedagogy, and restorative practices in education.

Jo Worthy

Jo Worthy

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
+1 512 565 8638, worthy@mail.utexas.edu

Teaches classes on literacy development, research, and pedogogy, with an interest in alternatives to ability grouping.